While checking my logs on Sunday I came across a rather unusual incident and no it wasn’t a very pleasant one. http://www.hotbook.com.br had generated some traffic onto my site so I was curious to know what it was that brought people to karmakars.com.
On further investigation I found that someone over in Brazil presumably by the name Marcio Sgreccia> has copied my layout, blog text, graphics, CSS including old banner, well almost everything possible of the front page!!
View the link http://www.hotbook.com.br/novahb/HBK.htm
He has gone a step further and saved some images on to his webspace. It has a static IP of 63.247.85.226
Don’t get me wrong I am all for sharing and helping people out with design and code where possible but lifting stuff off someones site and making it your own without even asking once is just plain rude. I have already written to the address mentioned on that page which is contato@hotbook.com.br but then you don’t expect responses from these slimy slithering scumbags. They are the lowest form of life truly. Yes I am a bit upset.
If you are reading this I would really appreciate your support if you:
- mention this on your blog (If you run a blog)
- know people who might be dealing with companies that are listed on his main page you might like to be cautious about them and where they host such websites.
Other Web Site owners that have had similar problems
- Simplebits — total layout and image theft.
- www.sidesh0w — full layout theft.
- Yellow Lane — Icon theft.





